The deceleration phase is the final stage of the 100m sprint. It occurs in the last 40-50m. This is the first stage where the speed is not being increased but instead starts to decrease. Hence the name the deceleration phase. In this stage you try to decrease you speed as little as possible. To do this there is a big emphasis put on proper arm movements and speed. If your arms start to slow down then soon the speed of your legs starts to decrease. If your cadence decreases so will your speed. You must also stay relaxed. If you are too tense and waste energy tensing unnecessary muscles you start to lose your technique, which will result in lost speed. By keeping your stride and cadence in check it will prevent speed loss. In a sport that can be decided by hundredths of a second losing speed is not an option.

I focused on building as much speed as possible in the drive phase and acceleration phase to counter the effects of the deceleration phase. By building up greater speed earlier in the sprint my goal was to help sustain the pace I was setting. You can see my technique still needs some work for I am still leaning forward and am driving off my back foot too late but my technique is consistent when compared to the acceleration phase to the deceleration phase. I don’t make many drastic changes as I get tired. My arms are being used effectively with an aggressive arm drive. My elbows are not quite at ninety degrees but are close enough that it is not a huge worry. Going forward I will continue to work on my acceleration phase and drive phase to help improve my deceleration phase.

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 11.24.14 PM

Leave a Reply

