This week I decided to look at some of the different videos of people sprinting. I was initially going to just analyze a video of myself sprinting but am kind of lacking footage since I have not been able to do a ton of running. As a result I decided to look at different videos that can be found online. I decided to look at Usain Bolt since he has had so much success in the 100m and 200m sprint. I watched his races in the Rio and London Olympics and then looked to see what made his races so special. The biggest thing I noticed was how his deceleration phase seemed to be nonexistent. While the rest of the field seems to slow down he just seems to go faster. I know that he is probably slowing down just not as much as every other athlete on the track. That is when he walks away from the field. In the blocks his hips are up, creating that straight line down his back, and you can see him explode off the line with that first step driving his knee forward. As he stands up through the transition phase into the acceleration phase his cadence seems to increase. His arms are precise and working to create extra momentum to carry him down the track. The work is done in front of his body with his knee coming through then his foot kicking out to meet the track then releasing the track shortly past his body so he can kick his foot up and around and back out. This allows his cadence to increase decreasing the amount of time spent on every stride.

It was eye opening and a great guide to see what the ultimate 100m sprint looks like. I also know that using Usain Bolt as a comparison to my students is not realistic for he has had years of practice whereas my students will be lucky to have done one or two 100m sprints in their life. I know from the peer tutoring I did in high school some students struggle to just run never mind specializing their stride. I will have to pick and choose which parts of the stride I want my students to focus on but at least now I know what it is supposed to look like and how important the different parts of the strides are to producing speed.

Leave a Reply

