Last week I took video of myself attempting block starts for the first time. This week I took the time to analysis what I did. So my attempts at block starts were not the best. I used images that were given to me by the professor of the track and field class to compare myself to. You are supposed to have a straight back that is basically in line from the hips through the back of the head. I looked a lot like a camel. I had my head up looking down the track instead of looking down at the track. I had a very nice curved spine with my hips sticking way up in the air. I had straightened my knees too much causing the high hips and rounded back. I also was rocked backwards towards my feet rather than straightening my arms and leaning forward so that my shoulders were in front of my hands. This is just the start of my attempt at block starts. When I started moving it didn’t get any better either!

Screen Shot 2017-04-14 at 1.20.07 AM

You can see in the figure below how there is a straight line from the heel through the back to the opposite shoulder. In my case I am staying hunched forwards with my upper body but standing tall with my hips. This provides me with the feeling of the forward lean without actually being in that position. My knee comes forward but it needs to reach more aggressively. My back leg needs to straighten even more. I also need to extend my back arm back and allow for a bit more rotation through my back. My front arm needs to drive forward.

Screen Shot 2017-04-14 at 1.20.18 AM

 

 

Leave a Reply

